2013-14 NC General Assembly

Democratic Senators are excited about the new talent which will be joining their ranks. There will be seven new members of the Senate Democratic Caucus in 2013. The North Carolina legislators are scheduled to return to Raleigh to begin the legislative session in January. Opening day is Jan. 9th, but session business will be for organizing only for a couple of days, and then the NCGA will adjourn until late January.

Democrats in the North Carolina Senate have selected officers for the 2013-14 legislative term. The new officers are as follows:

Senator Dan Blue (Wake), Caucus Co-Chair

Senator Dan Clodfelter (Mecklenburg), Caucus Co-Chair

Senator Ellie Kinnaird (Orange), Caucus Secretary

Senator Martin Nesbitt (Buncombe), Minority Leader

Senator Josh Stein (Wake), Minority Whip

Senator Gladys Robinson (Guilford), Deputy Minority Leader

Senator Floyd McKissick (Durham), Deputy Minority Leader

Senator Clark Jenkins (Edgecombe), Deputy Minority Leader